Drive around at 60Km/h, look, stop, park, shoot, go on.

Campo labrado, Calmarza, Zaragoza. Septiembre 2009

I remember a sentence similar to that one, attributed to the photo book guide ‘Photographing with Fred Picker’, being ironically referenced in David Hurn and Bill Jay book ‘On being a photographer’. It was used as an example of how one shoudn’t approach the whole photographic issue, and I must say that I honestly agree fully with their opinion.

Campo labrado, Calmarza, Zaragoza. Septiembre 2009

That said, we all know two things: first, that sometimes rules are just meant to be broken, second, that sometimes you just don’t know when you’ll be able to be at a certain place again, or even if you will be at all.

Campo labrado, Calmarza, Zaragoza. Septiembre 2009

So this is exactly the case this time. As I left the motorway I decided to take a different road to get to the village, and this is part of what I found. Sometimes I have seen some wonderful clouds and light there, as well as a gorgeous mix of warm and fresh colors from the yellowing grass. This time I had to have enough with worked fields and a plain palid sky, but helped me finish the C220 roll with the shelter shots from a couple weeks before.

5 thoughts on “Drive around at 60Km/h, look, stop, park, shoot, go on.

  1. Yep — sometimes the rules are meant to be broken, and other times you have a wife and kid in the car with you and the rules HAVE to be broken!

    Your post inspired me to get out the Rolleiflex and put some film through it before the weather gets too cold.

  2. LOL ! Yes I guess not everybody finds so fascinating to wait in the car while you wander around peeping down through that funny looking camera 🙂 To be an inspiration is one of the most noble endings for a photograph, so thanks very much sir !

    • Ey Sudeep,
      In fact my memory failed, checked yesterday and seems it’s a collection of videos/DVDs. There some footage available on youtube I think.
      Cheers,
      Oscar

  3. Acabo de encontrar tu blog y no puedo dejar de decirte que me encantan tus fotos y el delicioso y riguroso control que tienes sobre el b/n.
    Desde hace ya tiempo que trabajo en C-41, pero me están entrando (muchas) ganas de volver a disparar en b/n.

    Enhorabuena y gracias por compartir tus conocimientos e imágenes.

    Un saludo

Leave a Reply

